My First Microwave Cupcakes


So, I gave my silicone muffin moulds a try and the outcome is in the image below:

Chocolate Cupcakes

Fresh out of the microwave

After frosting with Cream cheese and chocolate icing

After frosting with Cream cheese and chocolate icing

Well, there is certainly scope for much more improvement but I am really delighted that at least till the time I get my brand new Convection oven, I can make do with the microwave ones. 🙂

Phew! I Spent a good chunk of my day experimenting with different compositions of cake batter and timings in the microwave.

Below is another I made:

Chocolate cake fresh out of the microwave

Chocolate cake fresh out of the microwave

Layered chocolate cake with cream cheese - choco filling

Layered chocolate cake with cream cheese – choco filling

Frosted with choco-cream cheese filling and chocolate shavings

Frosted with choco-cream cheese filling and chocolate shavings

Nicely sliced and ready to pack in freezer

Nicely sliced and ready to pack in freezer

Hoping to succeed in some more experiments the next day with a whole new list of cupcake recipes. I feel cupcakes cook better in the microwave whereas a whole cake does not evenly bake.

I am looking to make a few favourites of mine –

  • Vanilla
  • Red Velvet
  • Marble
  • Carrot
  • Plum

This list will do for now. I will post the recipes that worked for me.

Till then, see ya!

What do you think?

