Black Forest Eggless mini Cake (Microwave version)


Gurgaon weather is like that of a desert. It mostly has a very low humidity but also a very hot, dry weather with the Loo winds making it impossible to venture out at all especially during the day.
When the rest of India is drenched and flooded with rains, Gurgaon just manages a light teaser of rain which follows a chaotic dust storm with the outdoors covered in dust.

In winters too, the extreme harsh cold again is hard on the citizens and causes heavy fog during mornings and evenings.

In my 1.5 years of stay here in Gurgaon, I have never experienced nor seen much of rain here, in sharp contrast to Mumbai’s continuous drizzle, where I was previously residing.

So, I was surprised to see that Gurgaon in the past few weeks was experiencing soggy, cloudy weather, much like the one in Assam and this change in weather is really a blessing to us living here.

So, when I woke up this morning, I was in a cheerful mood and to celebrate this weather, I wanted to make something special, so I thought of trying out a recipe for Black Forest cake using Microwave, which I had chanced upon a from a blog that I am following. I am very thankful towards this blogger and very happy as the past few days, I was experimenting with my microwave to bake cakes. So, here is my inspiration for this wonderful cake.

The visual of a Black Forest cake takes me back to my college days when I was staying in a private hostel. There used to be a great bakery near our hostel named ‘Eggsotic’ that used to sell those wonderful Black Forest cakes and it was a new item for us at the time and whenever we had a craving for pastries, we used to scamper off to this pastry shop and buy a slice of this ecstasy. What memories and what bliss. Nowadays, I hardly eat this pastry as now there are wider options available but when I chanced upon this recipe, I wanted to try it out.

This is my first attempt and the outcome is in the pictures below:

DSCN2925sacdsaDSCN2937DSCN2952 DSCN2964

I am not too happy with my cake decoration skills as I was not able to create the perfect chocolate curl as the chocolate bars were too hard for the peeler. Next time I will do it with a softer and richer chocolate bar.

I used my liberty in decorating the cake using whatever I had in stock – M&Ms, sprinkles, silver balls, et. al.

Here is the recipe:

Black Forest Cake in Microwave

  • Servings: 6 big slices
  • Print
Microwave Bowl Size – 0.4 L x 2

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • All Purpose Flour / Maida – 3/4 cup
  • Granulated Sugar / White Sugar – 1/2 cup ( I used Castor sugar)
  • Cocoa Powder – 2 tbsp
  • Baking Soda – 1/4 tsp
  • Baking Powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Milk – 1/2 cup
  • Oil – 2 tbsp
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 tsp
  • Vinegar or Lemon Juice – 1.5 tsp ( I used Apple Cider Vinegar) [Vinegar is added to react with baking soda and start the chemical reaction needed to produce carbon dioxide and give those batters a lift as they bake. This is mainly required in eggless cake recipes]

DSCN2881 DSCN2884 DSCN2885

Cake fresh out of microwave and inverted to cool

Cake fresh out of microwave and inverted to cool

Cake cooled

Cake cooled

Chocolate shavings for decoration

Chocolate shavings for decoration

For Whipped Cream:
  • Fresh whipping cream – 1/2 cup ( I used Amul Whipping cream)
  • Icing sugar – 1-2 tbsp
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 tsp
For Decorating:
  • Cherries – 1/2 cup
  • Dark Chocolate Bar for Curls & Grates
For Syrup:
  • Sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Water – 1/2 cup
  • Vanilla Essence – 1/2 tsp
Method:
  1. First put your mixing bowl and beater hook or wire (balloon) whisk in the freezer for around 1 hour till you need it to whip up the cream. Put your whipping cream in the fridge overnight so it gets nice and cold.
  2. Take the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder in a sieve and sift it together. Set aside.
  3. Take the sugar, milk, vanilla, oil in a bowl. Mix it well till it is melted.
  4. Add in the flour mix in and mix well. Add vinegar and mix well. The batter is done.
  5. Now take a microwave safe bowl, line the base with parchment paper, brush the bottom and sides with oil.
  6. Pour half of the batter into the bowl and place the bowl inside the microwave for 2 mins. [This has to be done in normal micro mode. You have to watch the cake as it microwaves as depending on your microwave, it may take more or less time. You can test doneness with a toothpick. Also, if you touch the center of the cake and it feels firm it is done. My microwave has the highest power of 800 watts. Be careful not to overcook it as it will turn hard as a cookie!]
  7. Once it is baked, remove it from oven and let it cool for 2 mins, invert it onto a cooling rack. Peel off the parchment paper.
  8. Now bake another cake using the remaining cake batter in the same way. Let both the cakes cool completely.
  9. Now it is time to prepare the whipped cream frosting. Take your mixing bowl out from the freezer and add the whipping cream into it, add the sugar and vanilla to it. Use your beater to whip this till it is thick and stiff. Refrigerate until use.
  10. Now take the cherries in a mixer and blend till it is crushed. Set aside.
  11. Now, make the sugar syrup. Take the sugar, water, and vanilla in a bowl and mix well. Syrup is done.
  12. Next, take the chocolate bar and use a peeler to make chocolate curls and grate it using a grater to make chocolate grates. I used both milk chocolate and dark chocolate bars.
  13. Once the cakes cool, slit each cake in half. Place the cake in a plate, use strips of parchment paper to surround the cake to protect against the messy icing. Now Brush the cake with the sugar syrup generously.
  14. Spread the cake with some whipped cream. Top with some of the crushed cherries. Place another cake on top, brush the top with some of the syrup again, then whipped topping and cherry topping. Repeat these steps for four layers.
  15. Next, spread whipped cream all over the cake, top with chocolate curls, use chocolate grates and spread on the sides of the cake.
  16. Chill this whole cake for 1 or 2 hours till the icing is set.
  17. Slice and serve.

Do try out this recipe and let me know how it worked out for you! A bite into a slice of this cake brought back wonderful memories from my college days when I didn’t have to watch my weight. 🙂

Hoping to bring you more such wonderful recipes. Keep visiting. 🙂

One thought on “Black Forest Eggless mini Cake (Microwave version)

  1. Pingback: Microwave Cakes – A rundown | Mind Wanderer

What do you think?

