These are a few of my favourite things


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Inside the Actor’s Studio.”

I was looking around for some inspiration or idea to blog about when I happened to come across The Daily Post. This is a great blog as it helps newbie bloggers like me learn the nuances of blogging.

Sometimes, writing blog posts can be tough when you experience the writer’s block and your thoughts feel stuck and you are unable to type anything into the keyboard. This state of being really irks me as I feel so helpless and uncomfortable.

Now, The Daily Post has changed all that and I no longer suffer from this paranoia.

I have picked this topic, Inside the Actor’s Studio, so here are my responses below:

What is your favorite word? Chutzpah

What is your least favorite word? Submissive

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

I know what turns me on creatively – It is definitely a person, be it a writer or someone I may meet, who has a way with words and can be very witty!

Spiritually – Each morning, after I have taken a bath, I light the incense and as I do so, I try to think some positive thoughts in my mind. Just this very act brings me peace. Also, when I visit a temple, although I am not a really religious person, but something about the red tikka, the chimes of the bells, and the shlokas chanted by the priests awakens some kind of spirituality within me. Another time, when I return home from office and I lie in bed in the dark and think about the day’s events and my thoughts just drift, it feels so relaxing.

emotionally – really sad movies or novels. Seeing someone very vulnerable.

What turns you off? Male chauvinists, sexists and regressiveness. I abhor the very idea of suppression of my freedom to do what I desire or deem right and just. Killing creativity by meekly following regulations.

What is your favorite curse word? I don’t really curse much. Even when I am very angry or frustrated, I hardly find myself using any curse words even though I have never consciously suppressed myself.

What sound or noise do you love? The sound of raindrops. The sound of spices crackling in hot oil.

What sound or noise do you hate? Nails scratching against glass. Snoring.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? When I was younger, I wanted to be a Fashion Designer. Later, I wanted to be a Graphics animator. Now, I feel I love to cook exotic food, so perhaps a chef? Or perhaps I would want to have a bakery of my own.

What profession would you not like to do? Doctor or nurse. I feel queasy at the sight of blood.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? Welcome to Heaven. You have had a hard, unpleasant life. let me make it better. 🙂

Phew! So I am done with the responses and now I understand what a celebrity goes through as these are the kind of questions they get asked. Such simple questions yet you are required to really think a lot about it.

Let me know your responses too, in the comments. Also, do share my post for some fun!

What do you think?

