Eggless Plum Cake (microwave version)


Hey, lovely people!

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend. The days fly by so quickly and the much awaited and savoured weekend, even more so, what a pity!

Since, my workload in the office is quite light right now, I am able to focus my energies on my latest hobby – baking in the microwave, or rather, microwaving if there is such a word.

But, despite the fact that I have more time on my hands now, I am still getting into my old bad habit of procrastinating and hence, you can see that I have not published much of my recipes yet.

When the weekend comes, I get so engrossed in cleaning and lazing around as the fatigue of the entire week catches up.

By the way, I happened to catch a great movie on the newly launched Star Movies Select channel, “Saving Mr. Banks”, starring Tom Hanks, who is really a very fine actor I must say. It was so emotional and sentimental that it moved me to tears.

So, coming to the recipe, I had some plums lying in my fridge and didn’t feel like consuming it so I thought of making Plum cake with it. I have never prepared it before and had always bought it from the bakery.

I happened to come across this recipe from this site that I really find handy as it provides step-by-step instructions accompanied by photographs which make it easy to envision and understand.

Here is the recipe below:

Plum cake in Microwave

Microwave Bowl Size – 1.5 L

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 cup maida/all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla powder or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 plums chopped finely
  • ¼ or ½ cup chopped cashews
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon powder
  • a pinch or two of grated nutmeg or nutmeg powder
  • ½ cup dairy milk
  • 1.5 tbsp apple cider vinegar or white vinegar
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¾ or 1 cup organic cane sugar or golden sugar or powdered sugar.
  • ⅔ cup oil or melted butter
Method:
  1. Grease and line a microwave safe bowl with parchment paper. I used 2 bowls as I did not have a larger bowl so divided the batter between a 0.8 L and 0.5 L capacity.dscn33102920150725p dscn33113020150725q
  2. Sieve the whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, cinnamon powder and grated nutmeg along with baking powder.
    All-purpose flour

    All-purpose flour

    Whole wheat flour

    Whole wheat flour

    Sieving all the dry ingredients together

    Sieving all the dry ingredients together

    Sieving all the dry ingredients together

    Sieving all the dry ingredients together

  3. add the oil or melted butter and mix gently.

    Creaming the butter and sugar

    Creaming the butter and sugar

  4. Add the sugar and mix.
  5. now add the chopped plums and cashews. Fold these gently in the cake batter.
    Chopped plums

    Chopped plums

    Chopped cashewnuts

    Chopped cashewnuts

    folding in the chopped cashewnuts

    folding in the chopped cashewnuts

    folding in the chopped plums

    folding in the chopped plums

  6. Add the apple cider vinegar to the milk and later add baking soda to this mixture.
    vinegar added to milk

    vinegar added to milk

    Apple cider vinegar

    Apple cider vinegar

    Baking soda added to milk mix

    Baking soda added to milk mix

  7. Stir gently and add this frothy bubbly mixture to the cake batter.
  8. Add the vanilla extract and fold it in quickly.

    Cake batter

    Cake batter

  9. Pour the cake batter into the greased bowl.dscn33123120150725r
  10. Microwave in micro mode at the medium power setting for 7-8 minutes and check with a toothpick for doneness. In my oven, medium power is at 450 watts.
  11. Let it stand for 10 minutes before removing from the microwave and leave it to cool for around 10 minutes. Run a blunt knife around the edges and peel off the parchment paper carefully.
  12. Invert over a cooling wire rack and once it cools, slice it up and store in the refrigerator.dscn33153220150725s dscn33163320150725t dscn33203520150725v

Microwaving the cake batter will not result in a brown crust so even if the cake is done, it will look pale. You can try to use the grill method near the end to try to bring that crust though I haven’t tried it in the fear that I may dry out the cake too much.

I wasn’t too happy with the end result of the cake texture as I had forgotten to melt the butter completely before mixing the batter so the cake texture came out too crumbly. But the taste was wonderful nevertheless, the sour tartness alongside the sweetness was a refreshing change. Another mistake I made was that I didn’t use parchment paper to line the bowls and as this cake is really delicate, just greasing and flouring the bowl won’t work.

Do try it out and let me know how it turned out for you.

What do you think?

