Carrot Cake with Cream cheese frosting (Microwave version)


Hey, there everyone! Hope you are having a good week.

I have been meaning to post this recipe for a long time now, but somehow I never came around to publishing it.

This cake has got to be my second most favourite after chocolate cake, of course.

The addition of spices like cinnamon and cloves blends so well with carrots and the cream cheese frosting is like a match made in heaven! πŸ˜›

I have baked a carrot cake in the convection oven before, but that was when I was still a student and very amateur to baking. But I remember that I absolutely loved it at first bite!

After many years, I attempted this cake in my microwave oven using the microwave mode and that too after testing with a mug cake, I made this mini cake, just enough for two, though I could finish it alone too. πŸ™‚

I tried out some fancy decorations on the cake as I had bought some sprinkles and M&Ms. I am still learning to use my icing nozzles so I have not used them while frosting this cake as was not too confident. I plan to do so in my future cake frosting attempts.

I used this recipe for my attempt but plan on a bigger cake soon.

Carrot cake in Microwave

Microwave Bowl Size – 0.4 L
1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbs cinnamon powder
  • 1/4 tsp cloves powder
  • 3/4 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or cashew nuts – optional)
For Frosting:
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
Method:
  1. First of all, prepare the frosting, Soften the butter and cream cheese by popping them in a microwave safe bowl into the microwave for 10-20 seconds.
    Brown sugar

    Brown sugar

    Cream cheese and butter for the frosting

    Cream cheese and butter for the frosting

  2. Grease the microwave dish and line with parchment paper.
  3. Combine the softened butter and cream cheese with the powdered sugar and keep it in the fridge.

    Cream cheese frosting

    Cream cheese frosting

  4. Now prepare the cake batter. In a mixing bowl, add the ingredients for the cake in the following order:
    1. 1 egg
    2. 1/2 cup sugar
    3. 1/3 cup oil
    4. 1/2 cup flour
    5. 1/2 tsp vanilla
    6. 1/4 tsp salt
    7. 1/2 tsp baking soda
    8. 1 tbs cinnamon
    9. 1/4 tsp cloves
  5. Mix the above ingredients together completely and then fold in the shredded carrot, and if using, the chopped nuts.
    Shredded carrot

    Shredded carrot and sugar

    Cake batter

    Cake batter

  6. Pour into a round or square microwave safe baking dish and microwave for 1-2 minutes. This will again depend on your microwave power wattage so you will have to watch the cake while it is cooking. I have an 800 power (highest) microwave setting. Check for doneness with a skewer in the centre of the cake.

    Cake batter has been poured into a microwave safe dish

    Cake batter has been poured into a microwave safe dish

  7. Allow it to stand in the microwave for 5-10 minutes and then take it out and invert it over a cooling rack and leave it to cool.
    Cake is done

    Cake is done

    Leave to cool for sometime

    Leave to cool for sometime

    Invert the cake over a cooling rack

    Invert the cake over a cooling rack

  8. Once the cake cools, it is time to apply the frosting. take out the prepared frosting from the fridge and give it a mix and then apply over the cake. It’s done.DSCN2612 DSCN2613 DSCN2616

This cake is going to a regular in my menu. Hope you will like it! Try it out to know. πŸ™‚

Bye for now. Coming soon with more such recipes.

What do you think?

