Orange-Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese frosting


Hey, people! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!

So, I am back again with another microwave recipe! This time it is Red Velvet Cake in an Orange Red avatar with a cream cheese frosting.

In my last post, I had written that I bought a whole box of food colours and orange-red happened to be one of them! So, I used this colour – almost the whole bottle (a tiny bottle) to get the colour I wanted but for some reason, the colour was more of orange than red.

This is my first attempt at this cake and so I was pretty apprehensive and I was so worried that it wouldn’t come out right that I wasted a few hours in my dilemma just worrying about it. But finally, all ended well and my cake was a success, and just in time too as an old friend was visiting the next day and the reward was that she couldn’t stop raving about it! 🙂

So, I made this cake a day ahead – icing and all.

I had planned on making a special cake for Friendship day so I had to decide between Chocolate cake and Red Velvet and I decided on the latter as I have never made it before save for a mug cake.

I came across this cooking blog on the internet which had step-by-step instructions with photographs and from there I got the idea to use a different variation of red colour for the cake. It was supposed to be a 3-layered cake but since I had just 2 moulds of the exact same size, so I made two layers. So, I mostly followed the recipe but made changes in the batter formation method.

I am not too happy with my icing skills but hope to improve with my next cake.

I had actually planned on making another cake today as tomorrow is my birthday but this cake was huge and was not yet finished so I dropped the idea and since next Monday is my husband’s birthday, I will make one next Sunday and will update you soon!

Do check it out  the cake here below:

DSCN3589 DSCN3610

Orange-Red Velvet cake with Cream Cheese frosting

Microwave silicone mould Size – 9″x2 or 8″x3

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • All Purpose Flour / Maida – 21/4 cup / 300 grams
  • Sugar – 11/2 cup / 300 grams
  • Unsalted Butter – 1/4 cup / 60 grams
  • Oil – 1/4 cup / 60 ml
  • Eggs – 2 (yolks and whites separated)
  • Cocoa Power – 2 tblspn
    Red Food Colouring – 1.5 tblspn or as needed (I used 3 tbsp of orange-red colouring)
  • Buttermilk – 1 cup / 240 ml
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Vinegar – 1 tblspn (white)
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 tsp
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp

    Sift the flour

    Sift the flour

    Granulated sugar

    Granulated sugar

    DSCN3493 DSCN3496 DSCN3498

Cream Cheese frosting:
  • Cream Cheese – 1 cup
  • Icing Sugar – 3 cups (for me 3 cups turned out too sweet so I think 2 cups should be enough – just sweet if you prefer less sweetness)
  • Butter – 1/2 cup
  • Milk – 1 tbsp
  • Vanilla – 1 tsp
Method:
  1. First put your mixing bowl and beater hook in the freezer which you would be using for the frosting.
  2. Grease the silicone moulds and flour them. Tap off excess.

    Grease and flour the baking moulds

    Grease and flour the baking moulds

  3. Separate the egg whites from the egg yolks and beat the whites till stiff.

    Egg whites beaten till stiff

    Egg whites beaten till stiff

    Egg yolks, separated from the whites

    Egg yolks, separated from the whites

  4. Mix the cocoa with the food colour to get the desired colour and if it is too dry you may add some of the buttermilk.DSCN3507
  5. Take the butter, oil, sugar, vanilla in a large bowl and use an electric beater to cream this up.DSCN3508
    DSCN3517
  6. Add the egg yolks to it and cream again.DSCN3515DSCN3511
  7. Add in the cocoa-food colour mix and mix the batter well.DSCN3518 DSCN3523
  8. Add the flour, salt and buttermilk and fold in gently.DSCN3528 DSCN3530
  9. Take baking soda in a bowl and add vinegar to it. It will bubble up. Pour this into the batter.
  10. Lastly, gently fold in the egg whites.
    DSCN3531 DSCN3534
  11. Now divide the batter between the cake moulds and microwave on medium for 8-9 minutes. I have an 800 W M/W oven so my medium power setting is at 460W.DSCN3535 DSCN3537
  12. Once done, let it sit in the M/W for about 10 minutes and then remove and let it cool for another 15 minutes. Unmould and invert over a cooling rack till cooled down completely.DSCN3538 DSCN3545 DSCN3553
  13. Prepare the frosting in the meantime.
  14. Make frosting by beating the cream cheese and butter.DSCN3557 DSCN3558

  15. Add in half of the sugar and beat it.
  16. Add in vanilla and milk and beat it.DSCN3560
  17. Now add the remaining sugar and beat till it reaches a spreadable consistency.DSCN3561DSCN3565
  18. Now spread this frosting between each layer of the cake. Sandwich the cakes and spread the frosting all around the sides.
    DSCN3571DSCN3568
  19. I had levelled the cake top so with the remains, I made crumbs and applied to the sides of the cake. Also, I piped some icing around the bottom and sides and topped with sprinkles.

    Cake remains, crumbled to use in decoration

    Cake remains, crumbled to use in decoration

    DSCN3573 DSCN3578 DSCN3583 DSCN3584 DSCN3585 DSCN3586 DSCN3587 DSCN3589

    Refrigerate the iced cake to set the icing.

    Refrigerate the iced cake to set the icing.

    DSCN3595 DSCN3600 DSCN3608 DSCN3610

  20. Refrigerate the cake to set the icing. If storing a sliced cake, you can cover up the exposed bits with plastic wrap.
  21. Serve.

So, there you have it – an exquisite cake just apt for a special occasion. Do try it out. You will not regret it.

2 thoughts on “Orange-Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese frosting

What do you think?

