Chocolate Cupcakes for Chocoholics


Hey, there! I hope you all are having a lovely week.

As for me, I just survived another bout of severe migraine pain which lasted a couple of days just two days after my birthday. This meant I was bedridden and couldn’t go to the office, and to think I missed out on my belated cake-cutting ceremony at my office. 😥 Just when I think I have gotten rid of it for good, it comes back with a vengeance. Drat!

Oh well! So, as I said the other day, I didn’t bake a birthday cake for myself but the next day as I was to be going to office, I wanted to take some home-baked cupcakes to distribute among my colleagues in place of the customary sweets.

So, the morning I was to go to my workplace, after my husband leaves, I am searching frantically for a cupcake recipe to prepare for about 15 people. I then happen to chance upon this wonderful, picturesque blog. The photographs of the delightful cakes were so pretty and tempting. I zeroed in on this recipe for a basic Chocolate cupcake and decided to adapt it to the microwave mode.

What drew me to this recipe was the dark and rich colour of the chocolate, which was a tad darker and more chocolatey than the regular chocolate cupcakes.

So, fighting back my nervousness, I decide to try it out.

This recipe was perfect for a chocoholic! My only mistake was that I didn’t use cupcake liners for all the cupcakes, but only greased the rest of the silicone moulds, which resulted in soggy bottoms.

So, in future – lesson learnt – use liners or baking paper! No soggy bottoms in future!

I did use liners for the first 6 cupcakes and these came out well. But then I got lazy. Also, not to fill the moulds completely – halfway through should be it.

I didn’t prepare the vanilla frosting from scratch as I was pressed for time so I used a readymade box of Pillsbury’s.

With cupcake liners

With cupcake liners

without cupcake liners

without cupcake liners

So, let’s go right on to the recipe.

Chocolate Cupcakes (Microwave version)

Yields – 15-18 cupcakes.

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • 1/2 cup (42g) unsweetened natural cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s)
  • 3/4 cup (95g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (100g) granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (100g) packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup (80ml) vegetable or canola oil (I used groundnut oil)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup (120ml) buttermilk, room temperature
Method:
  1. Line 3 6-cup muffin moulds with cupcake liner. Simply greasing the moulds without lining results in soggy bottoms.

    line muffin moulds with cupcake liner

    line muffin moulds with cupcake liner

  2. Sift the cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together and whisk together in a large bowl until thoroughly combined. Set aside.DSCN3719
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, granulated sugar, brown sugar, oil, and vanilla together until completely smooth.DSCN3720 DSCN3722 DSCN3723 Pour half of the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Then half of the buttermilk. Gently whisk. Repeat with the remaining wet ingredients and buttermilk. Stir until *just* combined; do not overmix. The batter will be a little thin.DSCN3725
  4. Pour/spoon the batter into the liners – fill only halfway to avoid spilling over the sides.DSCN3727 DSCN3729 Microwave in batches at medium (mine was 460W) for about 7-9 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.DSCN3733edit
  5. Once the cupcakes cool, I whisk the ready-made vanilla frosting and divide into 2-3 parts and colour them blue and yellow and leave one part uncoloured. I then take all three in one icing bag with a star nozzle and pipe the cupcakes. Then I use sprinkles and pearls to decorate. Done!DSCN3735 DSCN3738 DSCN3743 DSCN3747 DSCN3746 DSCN3745dsfsf

Much as I love baking, I don’t like to eat my baked stuff alone so I love to share them. These cupcakes vanished in a few seconds and I didn’t even get to eat one whole cupcake. Such is life! 😀

It was fun making them, though, especially the frosting part. I hope you enjoy as much as I did while making them.

Cheers!

What do you think?

