Devil’s Food Cake – Strictly for Chocoholics!


Hey peeps!

I know it’s a Monday and most people, like me, would be feeling low as in the Monday Blues. But don’t worry, here is  a recipe that is guaranteed to up your mood, after all who doesn’t love something so sinfully chocolatey? Oh ok, not everyone loves chocolate – case in point, a great colleague of mine detests chocolate and would rather have butterscotch and has been pestering me to make her favourite cake. 🙂

But, my husband loves chocolate, in all forms – ice-cream, bars and cake! And it happens to be his birthday today. As luck would have it, it being my birthday the past Monday, hubby had wanted to know what I wanted for my birthday and I was quick to reply that I wanted a very large capacity OTG, preferably Morphy Richards and he relented, even though he was worried that it would mean high electricity bills, due to my passion for baking! 😛

I wanted a 40 L capacity OTG and the only brand of that capacity available in our nearest Croma Retail outlet was:

  1. Black and Decker
  2. Havells

I was very disappointed that the store did not have Morphy Richards but finally decided on Havells which was a 45 litre one. Now I am glad that I can bake what I want and can continue my quest for exotic recipes.

Here is a peek:

DSCN3898 DSCN3899

I still have to figure out what all the functions are for but for now at least I know how to pre-heat and bake as well as how to grill. 🙂

So, coming to the cake, since it was my first attempt in an OTG, I was very apprehensive how it would turn out and to add to that tension, I was following a recipe that was for a 2 layer cake, which meant that I had to bake 2 cakes simultaneously in a 9″ pan size. Now, I could fit in 2 6″ pans side by side but couldn’t do so for the 9″ ones so had to place them at different levels and also, another problem was, the OTG had a single wire rack and the other level had a Baking tray. And to make it worse, I only had silicone moulds as I had bought them for using in my M/W oven. So while baking the cake, I had to shuffle the cakes halfway. I realised that the baking tray was blocking the heat from reaching the cake in the top rack. Now, I realise how easy it is to make a cake in the Microwave and it is hassle free and quick too. But some muffins had come out too moist in them and the cakes could not be browned or crusted in the M/W.

So, at the end of it, finally my cakes were done. Have a look:

DSCN3937

Fresh out of the oven after so many trials and errors. Phew!

DSCN3974

I frosted the cake with a Chocolate icing. I used silver pearl balls and chocolate sprinkles. I know my icing skills need a tremendous amount of improvement! I wish I could be more patient. 😦

DSCN3990

Look at that dark chocolate colour! So sinfully delish!

So, here is the recipe:

Devil's food cake

Cake pan size – 2×9″ pans

Recipe Source: Sally’s Baking Addiction

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS FOR THE CAKE BATTER:
  • 1 and 3/4 cups (220g) all-purpose flour
  • 1 and 3/4 cup (350g) granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup (65g) natural unsweetened cocoa powder (not dutch processed)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (240ml) buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup (120ml) vegetable oil (I used groundnut oil)
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (240ml) freshly brewed strong hot coffee
    The ingredients for the cake batter

    The ingredients for the cake batter

MILK CHOCOLATE FROSTING:
  • 1.25 cups (290g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3-4 cups (360-480g) confectioners’ sugar
  • 3/4 cup (65g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3-5 Tablespoons (45-75ml) heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon salt (to taste)
  • Chocolate sprinkles, silver pearls for decorating the cake.DSCN3972
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to about 175 degrees Celcius. Butter & flour two 9 inch round cake pans, or use non-stick spray. I used 2 heart-shaped ones to make it special. 🙂
  2. Make the cake: Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a mixing bowl. Set aside.DSCN3922 DSCN3929
  3. Using a handheld mixer on high speed, mix the buttermilk, oil, room temperature eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl until combined. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients with the mixer on low. Add the coffee. The batter will be somewhat runny but not to worry. DSCN3931
  4. Pour the batter into prepared baking pans and bake for 23-27 minutes (depends on your oven so check after this time) or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before frosting.DSCN3936 DSCN3937
  5. Make the frosting: Using a handheld mixer, beat the butter on high speed until smooth and creamy – about 2 full minutes. This creates a creamy base for the frosting. Turn speed to LOW and slowly add 3.5 cups of confectioners’ sugar and the cocoa powder. Beat until sugar/cocoa are absorbed into the butter, about 2 minutes. Turn mixer to medium speed and add the vanilla and cream. Once added, turn the mixer to high speed and beat for 1 minute. Add up to 1/2 cup of confectioners’ sugar if you’d like to increase the frosting’s thickness. Taste, and add salt to taste. If using salted butter, no need to add the salt. DSCN3946 DSCN3947 DSCN3948 DSCN3956
  6. Assemble the cake: Place 1 layer, flat side up, on a plate or cake stand. With a knife or offset spatula, spread the top with frosting. Place the second layer on top, rounded side up, trim off the cake dome if any and spread the frosting evenly on the top and sides of the cake. Decorate with chocolate sprinkles or as desired. Slice and serve.DSCN3959DSCN3962DSCN3974DSCN3989

This cake is very fudgy and rich in chocolate flavour. The coffee has been added to enhance the chocolate flavour. Do try it out and I am sure you will love it – especially with the frosting!

Got to rush now so see you soon with another smashing recipe!

8 thoughts on “Devil’s Food Cake – Strictly for Chocoholics!

What do you think?

