Blueberry Muffins


I simply love fruity muffins be they banana, apple and especially blueberries!

I always wanted to make blueberry muffins as I just loved the tangy taste of the berries. I also plan on making blueberry cheesecake soon.

While surfing the net, I came to know that Blueberry muffin is the official state muffin of Minnesota, a state of the U.S.

I just happened to bake these muffins this morning after I cancelled my trip to office because of the sudden, heavy downpour just as I was about to leave home.

Seeing the heavy rains, I was worried about the water-logging and heavy traffic so I emailed my manager that I would be working from home.

The morning was very cloudy and the downcast skies darkened our flat considerably so there wasn’t sufficient natural light for good photographs. I was saddened by how my photographs came out. The colour was so unnatural.

I always prefer natural lighting for good photographs and a sunny weather ensures this. On days like this, I realise the limited capabilities of my point and shoot and wonder how soon can I purchase my dream DSLR camera. I plan to purchase one soon but before that I need to do some research on the kind of equipment and budget I would expect to have.

But, coming to the recipe, I followed a very basic recipe which I obtained from Sanjeev Kapoor’s site. An easy-peasy one especially if you have a hand mixer makes life so much easier. This is my second blueberry recipe and that too on the same day.

Here’s a glimpse:

DSCN43cxvx76

At least, unlike the microwaved muffins, they weren’t mushy and that was a relief!

Here is the recipe:

Blueberry Muffins

Yields about 10 muffins

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • Blueberry preserve – 4 tbspDSCN4316
  • Refined flour – 1 & 1/2 cups
  • Eggs – 2DSCN4325
  • Sugar – 1/4 cup
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp
  • Baking powder – 2 tsp
  • Butter – 4 tbsp
  • Milk – 3/4 cupDSCN4324
  • Lemon rind – 1 tsp

    DSCN4343ed
Method:
  1. Preheat oven to 180ºC. Grease and line a muffin mould with cupcake liners.
  2. Break eggs into a bowl and whisk adding sugar till light and frothy.DSCN4340 DSCN4345 Add vanilla essence and mix.
  3. Sift the refined flour, salt and baking powder into another bowl.
  4. Melt the butter.DSCN4347
  5. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and mix gently.DSCN4353
  6. Add melted butter and mix. Add milk and mix. Add lemon rind and mix.DSCN4359 Add blueberry preserve and mix lightly.DSCN4bdf368
  7. Pour the batter into the muffin moulds and bake in the preheated oven for ten to fifteen minutes or till they rise properly.DSCN4370
  8. Remove them from the moulds when slightly cool and serve warm.DSCN4388 DSCN4389 DSCN4395 DSCN4398fdvfdb DSCN4410

Hope you found this recipe useful and easy. I always prefer easy and straightforward recipes without too much of a  fuss. So hoping you will make it. Coming soon with more recipes!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

What do you think?

