Peanut Butter Cookies with Blueberry Preserve


I have always wanted to try making cookies so here I am with my first cookie recipe.

I had made cookies before, years before as a college student during my study leave – walnut cookies if I remember correctly – but that was made with just 2-3 ingredients so that doesn’t really count. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I do remember that everyone loved it! After all who can resist walnuts!

But this time I wanted to make some serious, real cookies, the ones that are being sold in stores with pretty packaging. I looked around in my kitchen and storage cabinet and found an unused bottle of peanut butter and I had just bought a jar of Blueberry preserves the other day with the intention of concocting some fancy stuff with it. Now, the combination of peanut butter and blueberry may sound somewhat weird at first but it works, believe me.

I remember as a child, I used to love the jam-topped biscuits in the local bakery and that gave me an idea. And luckily, I came across this recipe which was exactly what I was looking for!

This recipe also called for the addition of cocoa as well so you have a cocoa-peanut butter-blueberry combination. Divine and salty-sweet.

Have a look: DSCN4188 ย  So, here is the recipe below:

Peanut Butter cookies with Blueberry preserve

Yields:ย 10-12 cookies 1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • All Purpose Flour / Maida – 1 cup
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (at room temperature)
  • 3/4 cup sugar (an additional 1/4 cup for rolling in the cookie batter)
  • 1/2 cup (tightly packed) light brown sugar
  • 1 egg, at room temperature, beaten
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup blueberry preserve or jam

    I used this jar of Blueberry preserve

    I used this jar of Blueberry preserve

    DSCN4149

    Butter

    DSCN4150

    Peanut butter

Method:
  1. Grease a baking sheet and line with parchment paper and keep aside.DSCN4153 Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celcius.
  2. Sieve together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.DSCN4148
  3. Using a hand mixer or whisk,ย beat the butter, peanut butter, 3/4 cup of sugar, and light brown sugar together, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed, until smooth, about 30 seconds.DSCN4154 Add the egg and vanilla extract and mix until blended. With the machine running on low speed, gradually add the flour mixture until incorporated.
  4. Put the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar in a small bowl.
  5. Form the dough into 1/4 cup size balls and roll in the sugar.
  6. Arrange 5 balls of dough, evenly apart, on each baking sheet. Using a round 1/4 teaspoon measure, or the thin end of a wooden spoon, make a hole in the center of each ball of dough, about 1/2 to 3/4-inch deep. DSCN4168Spoon 1 teaspoon of preserve into each divot.DSCN4171 Bake for 11 to 14 minutes until the dough has spread and the surface of the cookies are cracked.DSCN4183
  7. Cool for 5 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely, about 20 minutes. Arrange the cookies on a serving dish and serve.DSCN4184 DSCN4185

Don’t they just look lovely?

I was apprehensive at first whether hubby would like it but to my surprise, he grew fond of it so much that he asked me to pack some along with his lunchbox. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am glad that those turned out well. I never knew baking them could be so much fun! Hope you try them out too and let me know how it turned out! Here is a videoย to help you out!

What do you think?

