Pork in Bamboo Shoot Stew (Pressure-cooked)


Pork has got to be the tastiest meat around! Thankfully, we both love it very much but due to health reasons, we don’t have it too often.

I remember back in school, which was situated in Shillong in the state of Meghalaya, I used to love the pork dishes served there. Boiled pork cooked with onion leaves and another local pork dish that was cooked in Turungbai,  which is a chutney/condiment made with fermented soya beans – a Khasi speciality – were my favourites. The beans are fried with onion, ginger, pepper, coriander seeds and cinnamon. I used to detest it at first due to the overpowering stink of the chutney but later I learnt to acquire the taste. Now, I wish I knew how to prepare it.

Much later, when I left Shillong and returned to my native city, I discovered the treasure of bamboo shoots. I don’t exactly recall when or in what form I first tasted it, but I grew really fond of it. I liked it pickled or cooked with fish or meat.

Nowadays, I mostly add pickled bamboo shoot to pork, chicken or fish curries.

This recipe for Pork bamboo shoot is very simple and quick. I use a pressure cooker which saves a lot of time as having a corporate job doesn’t leave you much time for anything fancy. So, I always try cooking simple and quick recipes.DSC_0129tif090215This recipe is similar to the Assamese and Naga style of cooking, the difference being that they would slow cook it in a pot instead of pressure cooking and would not use any spices.

Just writing about this recipe is making me salivate already!

So, let me just get on with it! 😀

Recipe below:

Pork in Bamboo shoot curry

1 cup = 250 ml

INGREDIENTS:
  • Pork with fat layer and without skin – chopped into curry-cut pieces – 500g
  • Mustard oil – about 1-2 tbsps
  • chopped coriander leaves (about 1 bunch)
  • ginger paste – 1 tbsp
  • garlic paste – 1 tbsp
  • green chillies – depends on how hot you want it. I add about 5-6
  • Onion – 1 large
  • bamboo shoot (I used fermented or pickled) – about 3-4 tbsp
  • Potatoes – 2, cubed
  • Cumin powder – 2 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Dry red chillies – 2
Method:
  1. Prepare the pork: Clean the pork and wash thoroughly for 2-3 times.DSC_0013tif090215
  2. Marinate the pork meat: Place the pork in a deep bowl and add a tbsp of mustard oil, salt (to taste), 1 tsp of ginger paste, 1 tsp of Garlic paste and cumin powder and keep aside.marinate-the-pork
  3. Pre-cook the potatoes: Chop the medium sized potatoes and fry till brown and keep aside.fried-potatoes
  4. Cook the pork: Take a pressure cooker (3-5-litre size) and heat the mustard oil in medium flame. Fry the finely chopped onion for 3 min till the colour changes then add the garlic paste and half of the ginger paste and fry for 1 min. Now add green chillies sliced in two halves and the Bamboo Shoot and fry till the bamboo shoot releases its fragrance (little pungent to smell). DSC_0090tif090215
  5. Now add the marinated pork and stir so the masala and the oil coat every piece of pork.add-the-pork
  6. Now add the pre-cooked potato pieces and close the pressure cooker lid and leave for pressure cooking with 1 cup of water. Wait till at least 6-10 whistles go off under medium flame. Check for doneness else pressure cook for longer till tender.DSC_0099tif090215
  7. Turn off the flame and let the pressure release slowly. Open the lid once the pressure is released and ensure that the gravy is thick (else put the cooker on flame without the lid and reduce the water content). Garnish with coriander leaves and serve with steaming hot rice.

    I didn't have the coriander leaves so skipped it.

    I didn’t have the coriander leaves so skipped it.

This is an incredibly simple and easy recipe and even without the addition of the spices, it would still taste good. I hope you try out this recipe and let me know how it turned out. You can cook this in a deep pan in place of a pressure cooker. Do leave your comments below. And keep visiting!

What do you think?

