Pumpkin Ginger Nut Muffins


I think this is my fourth post on a Pumpkin-related recipe and my third Pumpkin puree based one. Please bear with me as I discover the joy of cooking with this delightful ingredient – in bread, curries and muffins!

I always loved pumpkin stir-fry, but I could never have imagined or known that this could be made into a puree to be used in a lot of baked goodies and desserts. After trying my hand at a few recipes, I am glad of this revelation and now next to Carrot cake, Pumpkin has taken its place as my favourite ingredient. 🙂

I also did try out a Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake in a small portion and I just loved it and couldn’t decide what I really liked more – the cream cheese or the spiced pumpkin.pumpkin muffin

Recipe below:

Pumpkin Ginger Nut Muffins

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Print
1 cup = 250 ml

Recipe Source: SimplyRecipes.com

MAIN INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup chopped toasted walnutsingredients
Method:
  1. Preheat the oven to 176°C. Grease and line a 12-cup muffin pan.DSC_0010
  2. In a medium sized bowl, sift together the flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda.DSC_0020tif090115
  3. Mix the pumpkin, melted butter, eggs, 1/4 cup of water, and spices together.mixing the ingredientsadding in the spice powders
  4. Combine the wet mixture with the dry ingredients, until just incorporated. Do not over-mix.mix dry and wet ingredients
  5. Fold in the chopped nuts.toasted nuts mixing
  6. Spoon mixture into the prepared muffin tin. Bake for 25-30 minutes.spoon batter into the muffin tin
  7. Check for doneness with a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin. If it comes out clean, it’s done. Cool on a rack.muffins are done
  8. These can be stored in an air-tight container. You can keep these at room temperature for 3 days or in the refrigerator for a week.muffins

I hope you will try out this recipe and enjoy it. Please do let me know your comments and also press the ‘Like’ button if you like it and share it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ginger Nut Muffins

What do you think?

