Hawaiian Chicken


So, this morning I was wondering how should I cook the Chicken breasts for lunch and I realised I haven’t done much of grilling in my OTG. So I quickly went through my bookmarked recipes and came across this quite unusual recipe that made use of pineapple juice.

This recipe is a very simple one with very few ingredients. And with this sweltering heat, it felt like the perfect item for lunch. I haven’t ever used pineapple with meat before. I have mostly used it in cakes and muffins so I was curious how this would taste and I am glad I tried it out because I actually liked it.

I only wish I were in Hawaii and having this dish. 😛

This dish seems to be a simplified version of the more native Hawaiian dish named Huli Huli Chicken which is continually basted with a sticky-sweet sauce and “huli”-ed, which means “turned” in Hawaiian.

So, let’s get on with the recipe.

Hawaiian Chicken

  • Servings: 4 servings (serving size: 1 breast half)
  • Time: 4 Hours, 23 Minutes
  • Print

Grilled Chicken Breasts marinated in a mixture of pineapple juice, ketchup, soy sauce and ginger.


1 cup = 250 ml Credit: MyRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons minced peeled ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • Oil for greasing the broiler or grill pan
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

  1. If the chicken breasts are too thick, slice them across the center horizontally to give thinner even slices.
  2. Prepare the marinade: Add the first 5 ingredients into a bowl and mix well. Reserve 1/4 cup of the marinade for basting and add the rest into a zip-lock bag. Into this bag, add the chicken breasts and seal the bag and place in the fridge. Marinate it for 4 hours.
  3. When the marination is complete, prepare the broiler pan by wrapping in aluminium foil and greasing with oil.
  4. Pre-heat the OTG oven in baking mode at the maximum temperature which will be 250-degree Celcius. Then change the mode to grill. (If you have an outdoor grill then pre-heat it accordingly. You may also use a grill pan on a stove top.)
  5. Remove the chicken breasts from the zip-lock bag and discard the marinade. Sprinkle salt and pepper over the chicken. Place the chicken pieces onto the broiler pan and baste with 2 tbsp of the reserved marinade. Place the pan under the grill for about 6 minutes. Turn the chicken over and baste again with the marinade and grill for 6 minutes. Check that the chicken is cooked and crisp and then take out from the grill._dsc839419220160522a _dsc840717620160522a _dsc841218120160522f
  6. Serve with rice or have it by itself. Tastes just as yum.
_dsc841318220160522g

I sure hope that you try out this recipe and enjoy it like I did. Coming back with more such delightful ones! Please leave you thoughts below.

What do you think?

